I Hate Pills

I hate pills!

One of my earliest memories is the taste of a quarter aspirin (or dispirin or possibly a dishwasher tablet) in a teaspoon of raspberry jam.  Nothing could prepare my young tastebuds for the acidic bite when the pill would inevitably erupt from the jam and vindictively wedge itself behind a tooth. “Just have the pill” my Mum would plead “it will make you better”.  She never did answer my wails of “How?”

So, being a rather determined child I decided to overcome my hatred by learning to swallow pills whole by practicing with raisins.  After a bit of trial and error I eventually conquered my inability to swallow a pill.

Did it make me like taking pills any more?  Nope, not a chance!

I still hated pills.

This led to a lifetime of avoiding doctors, chemists, drug dealers and health food stores. So you can probably imagine my reaction when I was diagnosed with MS.  “I’m not taking any pills” I would mumble to anyone that would listen, including the cat.

5 years later and the average month has me taking over 200 pills and not a teaspoon of jam in sight.  When I did the maths it was actually quite a scary amount so let me break it down for you

  • Twice a month I take Vitamin D because my Dr said.
  • Every morning I have three Fish oil tablets because it is supposed to help with brain and heart health.
  • Every night I have two Panadol just before bed to help with the leg tremors I get and so I can get to sleep.
  • Every night I have a little blue pill.  NOT THAT ONE!  There is a less than endearing side effect of my MS is called Nocturia.  In other words I go to the toilet before bed, get up and go again, go to bed and then get up and go again.  My record is 8 times in 20 minutes.  So my Neurologist suggested this little blue pill.  It also helps me get to sleep.
  • And last but not least is the new addition to the mix and this little pill has been the hardest to adapt to.

Recently I started on one of the new disease modifying treatments that Pharmac has kindly started to fund. And yes it’s a pill.  This has been the hardest one to get used to.  It might only be a little pill but it’s had a major impact on my life since I started taking it.

The first impact was on my pride.  I was fiercely proud of being “drug free”, but if this drug gives me a 50% better chance of being able to walk at my sons 21st, or being in a chair the whole time, then pride be damned, I will take the pill every day.

The second impact has been on my body.   Any treatment that starts with a compulsory 8 hour day at the hospital for monitoring your heart has got to be a bit stronger than quarter of an aspirin.   I’ve had a range of side effects come and go since I started it. These include, but are not limited to, blocked sinuses, flu like symptoms, exhaustion and a regularly upset stomach.

The third impact has been on my time.  Apart from the inevitable regular blood tests, I also now have to have regular eye tests.  And then there is the time I’ve lost due to the constant feeling of illness.

I know it’s not a cure for MS but it might slow the progression down and if that makes me “better for longer” then my training with the raisins is time well spent.

So everyday I will fill my sons Smurfs cup up with water and take my medicine.  I still hate pills but know I need them.

Written June 2015

 

2 thoughts on “I Hate Pills

    1. At the time i wrote this article i was on Gilenya. Most people tolerate it well. My body didnt like it very much and earlier this year my Neurologist changed me to a newly funded drug in NZ called Tecfidera. I seem to be tolerating it a lot better. MS is a bit tougher than the average cold and accordingly the Disease modifying drugs are quite strong. Obviously this will lead to potential side effects. Please talk it over with your Neurologist. I didnt want to go on a any form of medication but it came down to one thing for me. If it will increase the chance of me walking at my sons 21st or being in a wheel chair then i will take the pills.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

